Welfare and Security Committee


September 7, 2006

Van Leer 121



WSC Members Present: Mary Ann Ingram, Chair (ECE); Jane Weyant (COE); Jilda Garton (GTRC), Gail Palmer (ECE), and Tom Akins (DOPP) ex-officio.† Absent:† Carol Moore (Provostís Office); Hal Irvine (OOD); Matt Noury (GTRI)


1.† The election of Matt Noury from GTRI to the Welfare and Security Committee was noted.† Jilda will contact Allison Graab, President of the Student Government Association to request that the SGA nominate a student representative to WSC.


2.† The WSC approved the Minutes of meetings held May 3 and July 17, as amended, as well as the annual report.


3.† To follow up on items started last year, WSC will request a draft of the Motorized Cart Policy.† In addition, the WSC will request a meeting with Gary Schuster and Steve Swant to discuss implementation of the AED proposal.†


4.† Parking continues to be an issue.† The Klaus Parking Deck did not open on time and, as a result, the Van Leer Parking Lot over-subscribed and employees who regularly park there were displaced.† Jilda will contact Sue Ann Bidstrup-Allen regarding the request for WSC to be included in the budget process for Parking.


5.† The WSC will invite Theresa Crocker, Marcia Kinstler, and Sue Ann Bidstrup Allen to attend committee meetings this fall.† Theresa will be invited to discuss the campus walking tour, the Motorized Cart Policy, and crime deterrence on campus.† Marcia will be asked to brief WSC on the reorganization of the Environmental Health and Safety.


6.† The WSC thanked Mary Ann for her leadership and service to the committee as her term ends.† WSC looks forward to working with Mary Ann in her new role as an ADVANCE Professor from the College of Engineering.† The working environment and climate of campus are closely correlated with the welfare and security of faculty, staff and students.† Jilda Garton was elected chair of WSC for the coming year.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.


7.† The tentative schedule for meetings during the Fall Semester will be the second Tuesday of each month at 3:00 pm in the GTRC Boardroom, Research Administration Building.



Respectfully submitted,

Mary Ann Ingram

Jilda Garton

Gail Palmer