Statutes Committee Meeting Minutesó August 25, 2011, 11:00 am


In attendance: TyAnna Herrington, John Stein, Jeanne Balsam, Tucker Balch, Bryan Church, Hunter Hammond, and Mary Ann Ingram (Executive Board liaison)


TyAnna Herrington called the meeting to order and welcomed the new members to the Statutes Committee.† She explained the duties of the committee and gave a synopsis of the work that was accomplished this past year.†


As the outgoing chairperson, Ty handled the nomination and vote for a new chairperson.† The recommendation was for Jeanne Balsam to be the chairperson.† Jeanne was willing to accept the responsibility and the members voted in favor.


Jeanne thanked Ty for her six years of service to the Statutes Committee.†


Jeanne demonstrated the new Drupal version of the Georgia Tech Faculty Handbook and discussed the process for moving from a 2008 edition to a September 2011 release of the handbook.


John Stein asked if we had any outstanding business from last year.† Jeanne stated that a second vote of the faculty is needed for the recommended change to Section 5.10, Procedures for Removal of Faculty Members.† The presentation and vote will be done at the October 4, 2011 meeting of the Academic Senate, Academic Faculty, and General Faculty.


The committee members agreed to have a monthly meeting on the first Thursday of the month at 11:30 am for the fall semester.†† A date and time for the spring semester will be identified at a later time.


Next meeting scheduled for Thursday, October 6th, at 11:30.


Meeting adjourned at 11:45 am.