Student Academic & Financial Affairs Committee

 

January 29, 2009

 

Minutes of Meeting

 

  

Present: Greg Corso (Psych), Cheryl Gaimon (Mgt.), Augustine Esogbue (ISYE), Tyler Jackson (Undergrad Rep), Mo Li (MSE), Reta Pikowsky (Registrar), Patty Sobecky (Biol),  

Absent:  Ruperto Perez (Counseling Center), Kristie Champlin (undergrad rep), Carl Yerger (grad student rep)

Guest   :   Donna Llewellyn (CETL)

 

The first meeting of the Spring semester was called to order by Augustine Esogbue at 2:05pm in the J.S. Coon Building, Room 148. Augustine welcomed Donna Llewellyn, Director of Center for the Enhancement of Teaching and Learning (CETL) which is responsible for CIOS. He reminded the Committee that at the November meeting it was agreed that Donna should be invited to share her views and recent activities of CETL with respect to CIOS as well as to update the Committee on their efforts to improve this survey instrument. Thus, the focus of the meeting was on CIOS, design, administration and usage.

 

Prior to her visit, Augustine on the suggestion of Donna, pointed the members to the CETL website and the location where the CIOS information was lodged. Donna further provided a handout on the CIOS Pilot Survey developed for Fall 2008. This she explained was an effort by a research team composed of faculty and students working towards improving the currently used CIOS in providing feedback to instructors and program administrators. Donna used a power point presentation to share and discuss this pilot survey and results obtained. There was intense discussion on the project with serious concerns expressed on all facets of the project. The greatest concern voiced was on the quality of the responses and the appropriateness of its usage by administrators. Its utility in providing “feedback” to faculty and enhanced learning for students was questioned.  A number of the members appeared to be unaware of the composition of the research project and composition of the team and wondered how the pilot survey instrument constituted an “improvement” over the current one..

 

The Committee felt it needed more discussion on the topic and especially since most of the student members were absent at this meeting. The resolve then was to call another meeting on the subject when it was hoped more student members would be present.

 

The meeting adjourned at 3:05pm.

 

 

 

Date

School/Dept.

Email Address

Burns, Susan

[08-11]

CEE

susan.burns@ce.gatech.edu

Corso, Greg

[06-09]

Psych

gregory.corso@psych.gatech.edu

Esogbue, Augustine *

[06-09]

ISyE

augustine.esogbue@isye.gatech.edu

Li, Mo

[06-09]

MSE

mo.li@mse.gatech.edu

Sobecky, Patty

[06-09]

BIOL

patricia.sobecky@biology.gatech.edu

Pikowsky, Reta

 

Registrar

reta.pikowsky@registrar.gatech.edu

Perez, Ruperto M.  - #

 

Counseling

ruperto.perez@vpss.gatech.edu

Champlin, Kristie

 [08-09]

U Student

kchamplin3@gatech.edu

Tyler Jackson

 [08-09]

U Student

Tjackson3@gatech.eduTBA

Carl Yerger

 [08-09]

G Student

Carl.yerger@gatech.edu

Gaimon, Cheryl - EB Liaison #

 

E-B Liaison

cheryl.gaimon@mgt.gatech.edu