Institute Undergraduate Curriculum Committee

  Petitions (Full Committee)

Tuesday, August 21, 2012


Present:   Higgins (COB), Smith (ME), Sankar (AE), Berry (PUBP), Hollengreen (COA), Yaszek (LMC), Senf (LMC), Economou (COA), Isbell (CoC/IC), Agrawal (ChBE), Loss (MATH), Walker (PSYCH), Mayor (ME), Stein (ODOS), Pikowsky (REG), Forman (COB)


Visitors: Appel-Sillbaugh (ODOS), Senft (REG), Fincannon (BME)


Administrative Matters


  1. Dr. Pradeep Agrawal was elected Chair and Dr. Laura Hollengreen was elected Vice Chair.  Reta Pikowsky, Registrar, will continue to serve as Secretary.
  2. The meeting schedule of Tuesday at 3:05 PM in the Registrar’s Office Conference Room was approved. The Committee typically meets every other week with the agenda alternating between petitions and academic matters.  The Committee prefers to have the agenda deal with either petitions or academic matters, but there are occasions when both functions are necessary.
  3. Subcommittee volunteers will be requested through an email communication.




  1. Student Petitions  Considered and Voted-Upon by the Committee

All were approved except as noted:


            6- Registration overload requests (3 Denied)

            3- Term withdrawal (1 Denied, 1 Tabled)

            5- Selective withdrawal (2 Denied)

            2- Readmit after 2nd dismissal

            1- Change course to Audit (1 Denied)

            1- Graduate without a minor (1 Denied)

            2- Change grade mode

            1- Be allowed to transfer in course already taken at Tech (1 Denied)

            1- Change registration from one to three hours

            1- 36-hour rule waiver (1 Denied)     


  1. Petitions Handled by Administrative Decision

The following petitions met the guidelines for “Administrative Action,” and were

decided by the Registrar under the authority granted to her by the Committee. All

were approved except as noted:


5- Return FA12

1- 10 Year Waiver

2- Readmit after 1st Dismissal (1 Denied)

1- Readmit after 2nd Dismissal (1 Denied)


3.  In-Person Appeal Considered and Voted on by the Committee

All were approved except where noted.


1- Readmit after 2nd dismissal







Reta Pikowsky