Faculty Honors Committee


February 18, 2004


Members Present: Kirsten Ely (MGT), Linda Thomas-Mobley (ARCH), Ruth Kanfer (PSY),  Paul Steffes (ECE - Chair)


Members Absent: Jacob Dearolph


1. After introduction of the new members, the Chair reviewed 2004 Call for Nominations. This included e-mailing the call to all unit chairs, updating the previously established website for direct access to the call and instructions for preparing nominations packages (http://www.facultyhonors.gatech.edu), and publication in the The Whistle.


2. Committee members recognized new awards for Undergraduate Research. Two new awards for Outstanding Undergraduate Academic Advisor will be given. These awards were initiated to recognize a staff and a faculty member who render outstanding performance in undergraduate academic advising.  The awards will be $2000 each for the recipient to use for professional development.  The award names are : Outstanding Undergraduate Academic Advisor - Primary Role, and Outstanding Undergraduate Academic Advisor - Faculty Advisor. 


3. The committee discussed the many nominations in each category and came to consensus concerning the awards.  The following individuals were selected to receive the awards indicated at the April faculty/staff honors luncheon:


Class of 1940 W. Roane Beard Outstanding Teacher Award (Deborah H. Turner, Associate Professor of Accounting, Dupree College of Management)

Class of 1940 W. Howard Ector Outstanding Teacher Award (Richard Catrambone, Associate Professor of Psychology, School of Psychology)

Outstanding Service Award (Jorge Vanegas, Associate Professor, School of Civil and Environmental Engineering)

Outstanding Continuing Education Award (No recipient this year)

Outstanding Interdisciplinary Activity Award (Professor George Vachtsevanos, School of Electrical and Computer Engineering)

Outstanding Innovative Use of Education Technology Award (Joel R. Jackson, Assistant Professor, School of Electrical and Computer Engineering)

Distinguished Professor Award (TBD by the president)



Respectfully submitted,


Linda Thomas-Mobley, Chair