Georgia Institute of Technology

2008-2009 Annual Report

Faculty Status and Grievance Committee


October 20, 2009, 3-5:00 p.m., Ferst Center for the Arts

General Faculty Assembly and Academic Senate (State of the Institute Address - Fall Meeting of the General Faculty)

Members: Roberta Berry (Pub Policy), Carol Colatrella (LCC), John McIntyre (CoM), G. Paul Neitzel (ME), R. Gary Parker (ISyE), Dana Randall (CoC), Marion Usselman (CEISMC)

Meetings: The FSGC met throughout the 2008-2009 academic year to consider grievance cases initiated by academic (3) as well as general faculty (1) and a dismissal case forwarded to the Committee by the Administration.  Informal investigations were undertaken in response to four grievance cases, including one that subsequently resulted in a formal hearing at the request of the grievant.  Reports of findings in the four grievance investigations as well as recommendations by the Committee were forwarded to the President in a timely fashion.  The dismissal case was withdrawn after the faculty member resigned. R. Gary Parker served as Chair of the Committee.