Submitted by Linda Thomas-Mobley, Chair, 2003-04 Faculty Honors Committee


1.)                Selection of Chair (August 2003): The Committee Chair for the 2002-03 year (Paul Steffes) requested indications of interest/nominations for the 2003-04 Chair. Professor Thomas-Mobley was selected by the Committee.


2.)                Revision of the Call for Nominations: Professor Thomas-Mobley circulated a draft of the revised Call for Nominations. After receiving input from the committee members, a final draft was accepted.


3.)                Webpage: The current website was updated so that the Call for Nominations would be available online: http://www.facultyhonors.gatech.edu .


4.)               A notice was published in The Whistle that included the names of the awards, the names of the committee members, and the website address.


5.)                Committee Meeting (February 18, 2004): A meeting was held to introduce new members and review the selection process.


6.)                Award Selection: The Committee met on February 18, 2004 to make award decisions and recommendations. The follow recipients were selected:


Class of 1940 W. Roane Beard Outstanding Teacher Award (Deborah H. Turner, Associate Professor of Accounting, Dupree College of Management)

Class of 1940 W. Howard Ector Outstanding Teacher Award (Richard Catrambone, Associate Professor of Psychology, School of Psychology)

Outstanding Service Award (Jorge Vanegas, Associate Professor, School of Civil and Environmental Engineering)

Outstanding Continuing Education Award (No recipient this year)

Outstanding Interdisciplinary Activity Award (Professor George Vachtsevanos, School of Electrical and Computer Engineering)

Outstanding Innovative Use of Education Technology Award (Joel R. Jackson, Assistant Professor, School of Electrical and Computer Engineering)

In addition, the Committee recommended two names to President Clough for consideration for the Distinguished Professor Award. 


7.)                Announcement of Awardees: The chair informed Aimee Anderson (Project Coordinator, ICPA) of the award winners by e-mail on February 20, 2004.  Shortly thereafter, all nominators of unsuccessful award candidates were notified, and encouraged to resubmit nominations next year.


8.)                Presentation of the Awards: The chair presented awards, except for the Distinguished Professor Award to the award winners at the annual Faculty Honors Luncheon.