Faculty Honors Committee:† 2008-2009 Annual Report

Submitted by William Hunt,

Chair 2008-2009 Faculty Honors Committee


1.)† Selection of the Chair (September 2008):† The Committee Chair from the 2008-2009 year (William Hunt) requested indications of interest/nominations for the 2008-2009 Chair.† Professor William Hunt was selected by the Committee.


2.)† Revision of the Call for Nominations: The call for nominations was updated and posted on the website †(http://www.facultyhonors.gatech.edu/).†† The call for nominations was sent as a pdf to Provost Schusterís office for distribution (December 2008).† An announcement was published in The Whistle.


3.)† Receipt of Nominations:† Nomination packets were received by Professor William Hunt by the deadline and copies of the nominations were disseminated to all Faculty Honors Committee members.† Packets not received by the deadline or sent in piecemeal fashion via email were trashed.† It was recommended by members of the committee that we move to electronic versions of the nomination packet for 2009-2010.


4.)† Committee Meeting:† A meeting was held to introduce new members and to make the selections.


5.)† Award Selection:† The Committee made the following selections after much discussion to reach consensus.


The Class of 1940 W. Roane Beard Outstanding Teacher Award (Junior Faculty) was awarded to George Riley of the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering.


It was decided that the Class of 1940 W. Howard Ector Outstanding Teacher Award (Senior Faculty) be shared between David Collard of the School of Chemistry and Biochemistry and Michael Meyer from the School of Civil and Environmental Engineering.


The Outstanding Service Award was given to Richard Fujimoto of the College of Computing.†

The Outstanding Distance Learning and Professional Education Award was given to Christopher Barnes of the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering.


The Class of 1934 Outstanding Interdisciplinary Activities Award was given to Andres J. Garcia of the School of Mechanical Engineering.†

The Class of 1934 Outstanding Innovative use of Education Technology was given to
Linda and Scott Wills of the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering.

In its inaugural year the Junior Faculty Outstanding Undergraduate Research Mentor was awarded to Jud Ready of GTRI.† If a donor has not yet been found for this award the committee recommends that one be sought.†


The Outstanding Undergraduate Research Mentor (Senior Faculty) award was given to Han Zhang of the College of Management.


In accordance with the statues which govern the committee we selected two candidates to be put forth for to the President for the Class of 1934 Distinguished Professor award. These two candidates were:

Charles Liotta of the School of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Robert Nerem of the School of Mechanical Engineering


The Presidentís committee selected Robert Nerem.


6.)                Presentation of the Awards:† Seth Marder presented all awards except the Distinguished Professor Award (presented by the President) at the annual Faculty Honors Luncheon.