Georgia Tech Faculty Honors Committee

Annual Report for 2011-2012

Prepared by Joel Sokol, Committee Chair



The Faculty Honors Committee’s responsibilities are to solicit nominations for and select winners of nine Institute-wide awards.  Nominations were due at the end of January, 2012, and the committee met in early February to review the nominations and select the winners.  The results of the committee’s deliberations were:


·         Class of 1940 W. Roane Beard Outstanding Teacher Award: Jennifer K. Leavey, Biology


·         Class of 1940 W. Howard Ector Outstanding Teacher Award: Lawrence A. Bottomley, Chemistry and Biochemistry


·         Outstanding Service Award: Bahareh Azizi, Chemistry and Biochemistry, and Tucker R. Balch, Interactive Computing


·         Outstanding Professional Education Award: Mustaque Ahamad, Computer Science


·         Outstanding Undergraduate Research Mentor (Faculty) Award: Manu O. Platt and Shyh-Chiang Shen


·         Class of 1934 Outstanding Innovative Use of Educational Technology Award: Bonnie H. Ferri, Electrical and Computer Engineering


·         Class of 1934 Outstanding Interdisciplinary Activity Award: Santosh S. Vempala, Computer Science


·         Class of 1934 Distinguished Professor Award: Richard Lipton, Computer Science [Note: As specified by the rules of this award, the Committee selected two finalists, from whom the President and Provost selected the winner.]