Tuesday, August 23, 2016, 3:00 pm

Poole Board Room, Wardlaw Center




  1. Call to order – Prof Martha Grover, Chair
  2. Introductions of new Board members and appreciation to those retiring from the Board – Prof. Grover
  3. Approval of minutes of the meeting on June 14, 2016 - Prof. Grover
  4. Introductory remarks by President Peterson and Provost Bras
  5. Student perspectives for the year ahead (Presentations from student leaders concerning their top priorities, for which they would appreciate faculty support):
    1. Ms. Nagela Nukuna, President of the Undergraduate Student Government Association
    2. Mr. David Scripka, President of the Graduate Student Government Association
  6. Tips for helping a distressed student – Dean John Stein, VP for Student Life & Dean of Students, and Dr. Ruperto Perez, Director of the Counseling Center.  Presentation
  7. Classroom and Academic Scheduling Task Force report – Prof Joe Hughes and Dr. Steven Girardot, Assoc. Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education
  8. Boards committee for review of Academic Program Reviews (APR) – Prof Grover
  9. Committee appointments – Prof Grover
    1. Institute Undergraduate Curriculum Committee
    2. Welfare and Security Curriculum Committee
  1. IUCC faculty member approval – Ms. Jeanne Balsam, Secretary
  1. News from Liaisons and Representatives from Standing Committees, Staff Council, SGA, and USG Faculty Council – Prof Grover
  2. Candidates for Georgia Tech’s representative to the University System of Georgia Faculty Council (USGFC) – Prof Grover
  3. Introduction of candidates and discussion of election of the chair and vice-chair of the Faculty Executive Board for 2016-17 – Ms. Jeanne Balsam
  4. Any other business


Reception following in the Gordy Room



Jeanne H Balsam

Secretary of the Faculty

August 23, 2016


Links to read ahead material supplied as available