Tuesday, June 22, 2010, 3:00 pm

Poole Board Room, Wardlaw Center




  1. Call to order (Ms. Barbara Henry, Chair)
    Introduction of new president of the graduate student body.
  2. Approval of Executive Board meeting minutes of April 6, 2010 (Ms. Henry)
  3. Introductory remarks by Provost Schuster.
  4. Presentation of minutes and action items from the curriculum committees so that new programs can be considered and approved in a timely way.
    1. Graduate Curriculum Committee (Dr. Marilyn Smith) – 5/13/10 & 6/10/10
      Action items: From 5/13: ECE – new joint PhD with a major in Electrical and Computer Engineering with the Politecnico di Milano; CoC-CSE, AE, and ISyE – modification course requirements for the Modeling and Computer Simulation (MaCS) Certificate; Math – 1 new course; new guidelines (14) for graduate certificates.  From 6/10: ISyE – 4 new courses, 6 deactivated courses, reduce credit hours from 36 to 30 and change course requirements for MS in International Logistics, change course requirements for MS in Statistics, and change technical elective selection for MS in Quantitative and Computational Finance; Architecture – create a new MS in Urban Design as a post-professional degree; Applied Physiology – 3 new courses.
    2. Undergraduate Curriculum Committee (Dr. Al Ferri) -5/11/10 & 6/8/10
      Action items: From 6/8: Implementation of Learning Outcomes related to Core Areas under the New Core Curriculum for Fall 2011; ISyE – modifications in the track systems associated with the BS in Industrial Engineering.  Information also supplied on approved courses for the International Plan.
  5. Data security updates
    1. A recent case of interest (Mr. John Mullin, OIT)
    2. Reflections on next steps with faculty input on data security (Dr. Ron Bohlander)
  1. Proposed calendar for the 2010-11 academic year (Dr. Bohlander)
  2. Poll of Liaisons and Representatives to Standing Committees, Task Forces, and USG Faculty Council (Ms. Henry)
  3. Any other business



Ronald A. Bohlander

Secretary of the Faculty

June 21, 2010.

Read ahead links provided as available.